Metal News

Filter by topic:
URIAH HEEP: New Album 'Living The Dream' To Be Released In September
20 Apr 2018

URIAH HEEP guitarist Mick Box was recently interviewed by The full conversation can be seen below. A few excerpts follow (as transcribed by BLABBERMOUTH.NET):

On whether he thinks the music industry has changed for the better over the years:

Mick: "It's very hard to say. I think it's a bit of each. It's good that things are so immediate now, but it's also a disposable age where you can do everything with one button in your home, and it arrives the next morning, so there's no anticipation, no romanticism involved with the music. It's very disposable. That's the bad side of it. The good side is the immediacy, with Facebook and web sites and Instagram and ...
Topic: Band News

AT THE GATES: 'To Drink From The Night Itself' Artwork, Track Listing Revealed
26 Feb 2018

Swedish melodic death metal pioneers AT THE GATES will release their new album, "To Drink From The Night Itself", on May 18 via Century Media.

Produced with Russ Russell (NAPALM DEATH, THE HAUNTED, DIMMU BORGIR) at Parlour Studios in the U.K., the follow-up 2014's "At War With Reality" will feature conceptual artwork created by Twilight 13 Media's Costin Chioreanu, who previously worked with AT THE GATES on the band's last disc.

AT THE GATES vocalist/lyricist Tomas Lindberg comments: "It has once again been an absolute pleasure working creativily with Costin.

"We had a lot of ideas for what we wanted to get across with the art this time around. Overall they w ...
EMPEROR's IHSAHN To Release Seventh Solo Album, 'Ámr', In May
15 Feb 2018

Ihsahn will release his seventh solo album, "Ámr", on May 4 via Candlelight/Spinefarm.

True living legends are few and far between, but Ihsahn has long since earned the right to be regarded as one of metal's all-time greats. As frontman and chief songwriter with legendary Norwegian black metal pioneers EMPEROR, he swiftly cemented a formidable reputation as one of the underground's most idiosyncratic creative forces. Classic albums like 1995's "In The Nightside Eclipse" and 1997's epoch-shattering "Anthems To The Welkin At Dusk" ensured that the young band were among the most respected the most popular of Norway's many black-hearted exports. Their imperious rise to prominence cam ...
DIMMU BORGIR To Release 'Eonian' Album In May; Cover Artwork Unveiled
25 Jan 2018

Norwegian symphonic metallers DIMMU BORGIR will release their new album, "Eonian", on May 4 via Nuclear Blast.

The songwriting core of DIMMU BORGIR furthermore consists of charismatic vocalist Shagrath, as well as the string wizards Silenoz and Galder, but other familiar faces also emerge from the darkness: drummer Daray and keyboardist Gerlioz are still part of the team, and Gaute Storaas helped with the choral arrangements for the majestic voices of the Schola Cantrum Choir.

The cover artwork was designed in fascinating detail by Zbigniew M. Bielak (GHOST, BEHEMOTH, MAYHEM).

"Eonian" will contain 10 new tracks, produced by the band itself and engineered by ...
AT THE GATES To Release 'To Drink From The Night Itself' Album In May
18 Jan 2018

Swedish melodic death metal pioneers AT THE GATES have set "To Drink From The Night Itself" as the title of their just-completed new studio album, due on May 18 via Century Media Records. The follow-up to 2014's acclaimed comeback effort "At War With Reality" was recorded with producer Russ Russell (NAPALM DEATH, THE HAUNTED, DIMMU BORGIR) at Parlour Studios in the UK.

Commented AT THE GATES vocalist Tomas Lindberg: "We have wrapped up the recordings of the new record, and we are super psyched! It has been a smooth process, and very creatively fulfilling. All people that we have worked with on this project have stepped up to our vision of the final product, and we are very excite ...
PRIMORDIAL To Release 'Exile Amongst The Ruins' In March
18 Jan 2018

Irish pagan metallers PRIMORDIAL will release their new album, "Exile Amongst The Ruins", on March 30 through Metal Blade Records. The band teamed with producer Ola Ersfjord, who worked on PRIMORDIAL's 2016 live album, "Gods To The Godless". The record was tracked at Dublin's Camelot Studios, located adjacent to PRIMORDIAL's rehearsal room.

Check out the video for the first single, "Stolen Years", below.

Once again building upon their signature sound, the follow-up to 2014's "Where Greater Men Have Fallen" is a more raw, "old-school sounding" record than its predecessor. Hitting home with what vocalist Alan "Nemtheanga" Averill describes as "a direct energy" and wieldin ...
Former MOTÖRHEAD Guitarist 'FAST' EDDIE CLARKE Dead At 67
11 Jan 2018

Former MOTÖRHEAD and FASTWAY guitarist "Fast" Eddie Clarke passed away yesterday (January 10) after a battle with pneumonia. He was 67 years old.

Clarke was a member of MOTÖRHEAD from 1976 until 1982. He was one-third of the band's classic lineup, which also included drummer Philthy "Animal" Taylor, who died in November 2015 of liver failure. Ian "Lemmy" Kilmister succumbed to cancer the following month.

Clarke, Taylor and Lemmy appeared on five albums together: MOTÖRHEAD's 1977 self-titled debut, 1979's "Overkill" and "Bomber", 1980's "Ace Of Spades" and 1982's "Iron Fist".

MOTÖRHEAD has issued the following statement: "We are devastated to pass on the n ...
Watch Video For New JUDAS PRIEST Song 'Lightning Strike'
01 Jan 2018

The official video for "Lightning Strike", a brand new song from JUDAS PRIEST can be seen below. The track is taken from the band's new album, "Firepower", which will be released on March 9 via Epic.

Singer Rob Halford stated about "Lightning Strike": "To me, the overall concept of this song is to use the element of a lightning strike to pull away and tear apart at an individual, at a body of people, maybe an organization, maybe an administration, that is kind of leading you, or leading us, into potentially a destructive place. You're kind of spinning that effect round, and you have the right to react and to do something about it. So that, in essence, is what this song is all abou ...
2017 Awards Published
22 Dec 2017

We published our reviewers' 2017 top picks, with seven minutes to go till 2018! :)

Video Premiere: EVERGREY's 'Distance'
30 Jul 2016

"Distance", the new video from Swedish metallers EVERGREY, can be seen below. The clip was directed by Patric Ullaeus of Revolver Film Company, who has previously worked with DIMMU BORGIR, LACUNA COIL, IN FLAMES, SONIC SYNDICATE and KAMELOT, among others.

"Distance" is taken from EVERGREY's new album, "The Storm Within", which will be released on September 9 via AFM.

While this may come off as music industry lip service in honor of the quintet, anyone who has followed EVERGREY will find it impossible not to become completely enthralled by the music on "The Storm Within" within the space of the first listen. The band's trademark progressive, dark and melancholic elements ...