Metal News

Filter by topic:
07 Apr 2014

Jason McCash, former bassist, co-songwriter and co-lyricist for Indianapolis doomsters THE GATES OF SLUMBER, has reportedly passed away. He was 37 years old.

In a posting on Facebook, THE GATES OF SLUMBER vocalist/guitarist Karl Simon wrote: "My best friend died last night.

"There will be no reunion — no more of THE GATES OF SLUMBER. It's dead beyond dead, and I've lost a brother.

"Please be respectful or silent. It's a small world and I'm still alive. Remember that shit."

McCash announced his departure from THE GATES OF SLUMBER last September, explaining that it was "just time for me to leave."

THE GATES OF SLUMBER's "Death March" vid ...
HELLOWEEN back with Nuclear Blast
25 Mar 2014

Germany’s HELLOWEEN have been one of the most influential and internationally most successful acts of the global Heavy Metal scene and this year the Hamburg-based quintet, founded in 1984, celebrates their 30th anniversary. Their latest studio album »Straight Out Of Hell«, charted at a sensational #4, their highest German chart entry to date, holding this position for five long weeks. Additionally they made another five top ten entries in Europe and also cracked the US Billboard Charts.

Now HELLOWEEN return to their old label home Nuclear Blast, where they released two albums - »The Dark Ride« (2000) and »Rabbit Don’t Co ...

24 Mar 2014

**UPDATE**: GWAR's manager, Jack Flanagan, has released the following statement:

"It is with a saddened heart that I confirm my dear friend Dave Brockie, artist, musician, and lead singer of GWAR, passed away at approximately 6:50 p.m. EST Sunday, March 23, 2014. His body was found Sunday by his bandmate at his home in Richmond, Virginia. Richmond authorities have confirmed his death and next of kin has been notified. A full autopsy will be performed. He was 50 years old, born August 30, 1963.

"My main focus right now is to look after my bandmates and his family.

"More information regarding his death shall be released as the details are confirmed."

Topic: Band News

RAGE – More info about The Soundchaser Archives
24 Mar 2014

German Heavy Metal masters RAGE recently revealed the first part of their liner notes on the upcoming 30th anniversary release »The Soundchaser Archives«. Now the band gives an insight on the second half of this ultimate song collection.

»The Soundchaser Archives« will be out on May 23, 2014 via Nuclear Blast. Diving into their own history, RAGE has 21 studio a ...

Sabaton - Release new album trailer of »Heroes«!
22 Mar 2014

2014-03-21 00:00 - On the 16th of May, Swedish Heavy Metal band SABATON will release their seventh studio-longplayer called »Heroes«.

Today, SABATON are proud to release their second trailer about »Heroes«, which was filmed during the band’s album presentation in Stockholm, on February 22nd. The trailer was produced and edited by David Havlena of Spark Magazine (CZ) at the Pax studio.

»Heroes« was recorded at Abyss Studio, along with producer Peter Tägtgren (AMORPHIS, CHILDREN OF BODOM and more), with whom SABATON already worked on their previous platinum album »Carolus Rex«.

Happy New Year 2014 !
01 Jan 2014 would like to wish you a Happy New Year 2014 and thank you for your fidelity over the years. Best wishes for health, prosperity and family, and of course, a fantastic Metal year music wise.

The site is now 14 years old too, not too shabby :)

In Metal We Trust !
The team.
MetalReviews Gets An Upgrade
27 Nov 2013

Tonight, we made an update to the site and forums that was a long time in coming. This update gets rid of a few annoying things about the site (scroll bars anyone?), adds some readability updates, and updates the forums to a newer version.

This is the first upgrade we've had time to do in a while, but it definitely won't be the last. We're going to make the site more mobile-friendly, add more content in the future, and probably do some more design changes to make it easier to read and find reviews once we've got some more of the kinks out.

We appreciate all our loyal readers' feedback while we make these changes -- if you see something that doesn't work or have an improvement you really have a hard time living without, please let us know on the contact form or in the forums and we'll take a look when we get a moment.

DEICIDE: 'In The Minds Of Evil' Release Date Announced
03 Sep 2013

Florida death metal veterans DEICIDE will release their new album, "In The Minds Of Evil", on November 26 via Century Media Records. The CD was recorded at AudioHammer Studios in Sanford, Florida with producer Jason Suecof (TRIVIUM, AUGUST BURNS RED, THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER, ALL THAT REMAINS, WHITECHAPEL, DEVILDRIVER).

"In The Minds Of Evil" track listing:
01. In The Minds Of Evil
02. Thou Begone
03. Godkill
04. Beyond Salvation
05. Misery Of One
06. Between The Flesh And The Void
07. Even The Gods Can Bleed
08. Trample The Cross
09. Banished By Evil
10. Kill The Light Of Christ
11. End The Wrath Of God

DEICIDE drummer Steve Asheim ...
ENTOMBED Signs with CENTURY MEDIA RECORDS; New Album Title, Artwork Unveiled
03 Sep 2013

Swedish metal veterans ENTOMBED have inked a deal with Century Media Records. The band's tenth album, "Back To The Front", will be released on October 29 (one day earlier internationally). The CD was recorded at Studio Bohus (ABBA, EUROPE) in Kungälv, Sweden with producer Roberto Laghi (IN FLAMES, HARDCORE SUPERSTAR). The cover artwork was painted by Zbigniew Bielak (WATAIN, VADER) and can be seen below.

A press release states: "Don't be afraid that it will sound like ABBA — it's 666% true to the ENTOMBED everybody loves. While not falling for total regression back to the early classics 'Left Hand Path' or 'Clandestine', expect a total bone-crushing opus that will have fans of 'Wo ...
OPETH Mainman Says Next Album Will Have 'More Sinister-Sounding Riffs'
03 Sep 2013

This coming Friday, September 6, Swedish progressive metallers OPETH will set sail on Melloboat 2013, a two-day cruise between Stockholm, Sweden and Riga, Latvia featuring performances by a number of progressive cult bands and heavy hitters, including Morgan Ågren (featuring a guest appearance by Devin Townsend), SAGA (Sweden), CRESSIDA, ICECROSS, TRETTIOÅRIGA KRIGET, ÄNGLAGÅRD, PANTA REI 2.0 and BADGE. The cruise will mark OPETH's very last show in support of the band's latest album, "Heritage", which came out in 2011. The group will spend the remaining months of 2013 putting the finishing touches on the writing and recording process for its next studio effort, which will be released so ...