Change! - Various Artists (DVD/CD)
Sub City
Metalcore / Modern Metal
Disc 1: 21 songs (68'05) Disc 2: 17 songs (67'34)
Release year: 2007
Reviewed by Marty
Hopeless Records was originally founded in 1993 and has handled releases by such bands as Avenged Sevenfold, Thrice and An All Time Low. After selling well over 130 million albums since the label's inception, the idea of channelling some of the newfound revenue and wide exposure to the public into a charitable foundation was born. With the annual Take Action Tours and Sub City label, Hopeless Records has now donated in excess of 1 million dollars to various charitable foundations including The Foundation Fighting Blindness and more than 50 other non-profit organizations including a Los Angeles drop-in centre. Helping launch the careers of such bands as Avenged Sevenfold, Jimmy Eat World, Poison The Well, Siverstein and Shadows Fall with it's annual Take Action Tour, Sub City has also drawn attention to some of the plights facing the youth of today namely mental health issues and suicide prevention by helping fund the Youth America Hotline and the National Suicide Hotline.

Along with their charitable work, Sub City has formed the Hot Topic Foundation to help enrich the lives of youth by supporting programs that focus on encouraging and educating youth in music, creative writing, photography and filmmaking. Since 2004, the Hot Topic Foundation has donated more than 2 million dollars to charitable organizations to help bring music and arts to the youth of today. Their latest endeavour is this new CD/DVD package entitled Change! For those who are fans of metalcore or more modern metal styles, this package contains a wide variety of tracks on the CD as well as a collection of videos from many of the the current heavyweights in the genre. The CD contains 21 recent tracks by such bands as Silverstein, Every Time I Die, As I Lay Dying, Job For A Cowboy, Poison The Well, HORSE The Band and The Fall Of Troy. The DVD included in this package contains 17 videos including We're Wolf by Every Time I Die, Nothing Left by As I Lay Dying, Composure by August Burns Red, Embedded by Job For A Cowboy, New York City by HORSE The Band and In The Belly Of The Shark by Gallows to name a few.

For fans of metalcore and the newer modern metal bands, this is a great package to add to your collection. With the CD, you get over 20 tracks to take with you in the car, mp3 player etc. as well as a collection of videos from many of the newer and more popular acts in the metalcore genre. A few tracks are on both the CD and the DVD but Sub City has done a great job of trying to include as many bands as possible on this release with the CD and DVD having largely different track listings. This is all packaged up quite nicely with a reduced price with all proceeds going to the Sub City Foundation to help fund organizations to bring music and the arts to the youth that may not have access or opportunities to in their everyday lives. It's great to see a label realizing their power of influence and setting up something like this to do solid charitable work. You can do your part by picking up this package and helping support their causes. You can take comfort in the fact that it can and likely will make a difference in someone's life.

Killing Songs :
Marty quoted no quote
0 readers voted
You did not vote yet.
Vote now

There are 0 replies to this review. Last one on Mon Dec 31, 2007 11:47 pm
View and Post comments