SLEEP Releases First New Album Since 1998
20 Apr 2018

SLEEP has just released its first full-length album of new recordings since 1998. Years after the release of "Volume One" in 1991, "Holy Mountain" in 1992 and "Dopesmoker" in 2003, the sonic titans reaffirm their place at the top of the riff pyramid with this brand-new double album, "The Sciences", available on Jack White's Third Man Records.

Words elude us to describe this masterpiece, we recommend you listen immediately. "The Sciences" is available now everywhere one can listen to music in 2018, and physically in stores hand-selected by the band as a limited-edition split-colored LP with an alternate cover. A standard edition of the album is also available to order now.

"The Sciences" track list:

01. The Sciences
02. Marijuanaut's Theme
03. Sonic Titan
04. Giza Butler
05. Antarcticans Thawed
06. The Botanist

In 2014, SLEEP released "The Clarity", its first new song since "Dopesmoker", as part of the Adult Swim Singles Program. In an interview with NPR at the time, the band stated: "SLEEP has been sporadically writing riffs for a while now.... There is no preconceived idea of what the new material should be. It would be an amalgamated effort of decades of riff immersion."

"Dopesmoker" first surfaced in edited form in 1999, chopped into nine tracks and released under the title "Jerusalem". In proper form, the album, composed over four years, is meant to be heard as a single, hour-long track.

SLEEP disbanded following the release of "Dopesmoker", but reunited in 2009. The trio has toured sporadically since, with Jason Roeder replacing original drummer Chris Hakius.

There are 0 comments on this article. Last one on Fri Apr 20, 2018 2:43 pm
View and Post comments